Visitors and residents can now enjoy expanded opportunities to explore all the amenities of Tower Grove Park during Carless Days through October. Vehicular closures are scheduled primarity for the eastern portion of the park which borders Grand, but also the west end bordered by Kingshighway. The 289 acre-urban Victorian Park, donated to the City by Henry Shaw, features approximately 7,000 trees, numerous sculptures including The Ruins (seen above), Piper Palm House, Tower Grove Farmer's Market, the Bandstand, Victorian pavilions, tennis courts, athletic fields, and an outer 3-mile running loop.
Road closures include Northeast Drive, Main Drive and Southeast Drive from just inside the S. Grand Blvd. entrance to Humboldt Circle. Tower Grove Avenue / Center Cross will remain open to vehicles.
Mon.–Thurs., August 17, 18, 19, 20
Mon.–Thurs., September 21, 22, 23, 24
Mon.–Thurs., October 19, 20, 21, 22
West End Closures will include Northwest and Southwest Drives and closing the entire west end. Tower Grove Avenue / Center Cross will remain open to vehicles.
Sunday, August 16
This experiment recognizes both a new understanding of pedestrian-only access seen globally, and the local community’s requests to extend the closures from this past spring. Please call 314-771-2679 for more information.
Many St. Louis attractions have opened in phases including: Gateway Arch National Park, Missouri Botanical Garden, Butterfly House, Missouri History Museum, Soldiers Memorial, St. Louis Zoo, St. Louis Science Center, St. Louis Art Museum, City Museum, St. Louis Aquarium and St. Louis Wheel and Magic House.
In the spirit of supporting St. Louis, we have relaunched STL Front Page. Twenty-five years ago, the St. Louis Front Page, published by Moore Design Group, began as a visual guide to St. Louis attractions, historical neighborhoods, hotels, restaurants and the entertainment scene. We are introducing "Experience St. Louis" with Places to Visit, Places to Stay, Places to Eat and Maps to get you to your destination. It's a work in progress. As St. Louis gradually reopens for business we will be there to help guide you through our beautiful city. We are all in this together. We are #stlouisstrong. We are #stlouisfriendly.
In 1904, St. Louis hosted the Louisiana Purchase Exposition and the Summer Olympics at Forest Park, adjoining the Central West End.
Following the World's Fair, Forest Park became known as the 'Crown Jewel of St. Louis.' The 1,371-acre features: Saint Louis ZOO; Saint Louis Art Museum; The Muny; Saint Louis Science Center; Missouri History Museum; and the Jewel Box.
More than 10 million visitors come to the park each year to participate in softball, cricket, rugby, tennis, golf, archery, lacrosse and soccer. They also ride bikes, ice and roller skate, roller-blade, jog, fish and have fun.
St. Louis offers a variety of attractions including: Historical Old Courthouse, National Blues Museum, Union Station, St. Louis Aquarium, The Wheel, Enterprise Center, Steifel Theatre, Citygarden, St. Louis City Library, St. Louis City Hall, City Museum, Campbell House, Field House Museum, Baseball Hall of Fame, Busch Stadium and Anheuser-Busch in downtown St. Louis; Missouri Botanical Garden near Tower Grove Park; Delmar Loop in University City; Grant's Farm, in South County, Butterfly House, the Museum of Transportation and West Port Plaza in West County; Historic Main Street in St. Charles, MO; Six Flags, near Eureka; the Daniel Boone Home near Defiance, MO; and the Mastodon State Historic Site near Kimmswick, MO.
St. Louis was founded in 1764 by Pierre Laclède and Auguste Chouteau as a fur trading post on the west banks of the Mississippi River. Today, Laclede's Landing, a nine - block industrial area that once housed companies producing coffee, leather goods, mattresses, tobacco, whiskey, candy and machinery for the barges, features some of the most unique restaurants, sidewalk cafes, hotels and a casino.
St. Louis was named after the Crusader King Louis IX of France. The city is often referred to as the Gateway to the West, after the Gateway Arch was built in 1965.