Grand Hall at Saint Louis Union Station photo by Bob Moore

Saint Louis Union Station

Saint Louis Union Station, a massive, Romanesque-style building, designed by architect Theodore Link in 1894, was once the largest and busiest railroad terminal in the world.

In 1976, the St. Louis Union Station was designated a National Historic Landmark. After an extensive $150 million restoration, the facility, including an expansive 11.5 acre trainshed reopened in 1985 with a hotel, unique marketplace of shops, assortment of fine restaurants and cafes, live entertainment and a lake with boats ... all under one roof.

The St. Louis Aquarium at Union Station is the centerpiece of a $187 million family entertainment complex in downtown St. Louis. The Aquarium and other attractions - including the 200-foot St. Louis Wheel observation wheel -- are housed at the 500,000-square-foot National Historic Landmark train shed at Union Station

Today, the Grand Hall features a 65-foot, barrel-vaulted ceiling of unsurpassed fresco and gold leaf detailing, mosaics, Tiffany-designed, stained glass over the entrance, scale models of trains and statues, an award-winning 3-D projection mapping light show, new furnishings and a 65-foot-long bar. Visitors can discover the Station's past and present with a self-guided walking tour through one of the nation's most significant rail stations and restoration projects by Lodging Hospitality Management, owners of the entire Union Station complex and St. Louis Union Station Hotel, located in what is known as the Headhouse.

Saint Louis Union Station is located at 1820 Market St. For more information, call 314-802-3452. (The Wheel and St. Louis Aquarium at Saint Louis Union Station are now open. All guests, including annual pass holders, will be required to reserve timed tickets.)


Aloe Plaza Fountain in front of Saint Louis Union Station photo by Bob Moore

Across from Union Station is Aloe Plaza and the magnificent "Meeting of the Waters Fountain", by Carl Milles, with elaborate bronze sculptural pieces representing the meeting of the Mississippi and Missouri Rivers.

Allegorical Window photo by Bob Moore

The Tiffany-designed, hand-cut, stained glass "Allegorical Window" in the Grand Hall features three women representing the major train station during the 1890s: San Franciso (left), St. Louis (middle) and New York (right).


STL Front Page - Experience St. Louis Attractions is owned and maintained by the Moore Design Group for the sole purpose of disseminating news and information about the Metropolitan St. Louis area. Text or graphics may not be copied, rewritten or distributed in any manner whatsoever without written permission. For more information, contact editor@slfp.com All rights reserved world wide. © 1996 - 2020